Who we are

New England FIRST (NEFIRST) is the operational partner of the FIRST® Robotics Competition (FRC) in the six New England states and is supported by ingenuityNE, a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit public charity incorporated in the State of Connecticut. We also manage FIRST Tech Challenge in Connecticut and FIRST Lego League programs in Connecticut and Massachusetts. We serve as a convener of STEM enthusiasts, students, mentors, teachers, coaches in Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont.

NE FIRST is a robotics community dedicated to preparing youth for life and the workforce through competitive play and special events. Powered by a mission-driven global robotics community and evidence-based programs designed to ignite curiosity and encourage exploration, FIRST® prepares young people for the future and enhances their 21 st century work-life skills.

Supported by adult coaches, mentors, educators, volunteers, sponsors, and alumni, FIRST offers a progressive series of team robotics challenges for students aged 6-18. FIRST programs are designed with hands-on, real-world experiences known to increase interest and engagement in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) and inspire today’s kids to build tomorrow’s leaders.

Research shows FIRST is advancing its mission to increase the number of students interested in STEM — and that interest is influencing their educational and career choices.

Our Mission

To support the FIRST global mission “to inspire young people to be science and technology leaders, by engaging them in exciting mentor-based programs that build science, engineering and technology skills, that inspire innovation, and that foster well-rounded life capabilities including self-confidence, communication, and leadership.”

How we do it

NE FIRST provides accessible, innovative robotics programs that motivate young people to pursue education and career opportunities in science, technology, engineering, and math, while building self-confidence, knowledge, and life skills.

FIRST students gain skills in:

• Project management
• Time management
• Finances and budgeting
• Sales and marketing
• Safety and compliance
• Construction and engineering
• Advanced technology
• Troubleshooting
• Teamwork
• Presentation skills
• Competition

New England Contacts

Michael Fantom
Executive Director

Kim Pita
Engagement & Advancement

Scott Heaton
New England Robotics & Logistics Director


Lisa Nollman
FLL Explore Partner

Mike Gentry
FLL Challenge  Partner

Carol Scully
FTC Partner

Stacey Lynn Gray
FIRST Senior Mentor

Massachusetts & Rhode Island

Stephen  Green
FLL Explore Partner

Dana Henry
Senior Mentor

New Hampshire & Vermont

Ken St. Hilaire
Senior Mentor


Steve Martin
Senior Mentor

FIRST Backgrounder